’Twas the Night Before Weihnachten

Brenda Arnold
3 min readDec 23, 2023

Read by Brenda

’Twas the night before Weihnachten
And all through the city
The shops were all decorated
And lookin’ real pretty.

I hopped on the train
And rode into town
To pick up some presents
And just hang around.

The voice said “Marienplatz”
The doors opened wide
I hopped onto the platform
With a purposeful stride.

Then a man pushed past me
Hey, what’s the big deal?
Show some Christmas spirit
In front of the Glockenspiel.

I gathered my courage
And went up the stairs
Where the huge Christmas market
Was presenting its wares.

The pedestrian zone
Was so noisy and packed
I took a deep breath
Lest I overreact.

’Twas alive, full of people,
Red-cheeked and a-bustle
Cheerier than the usual
Everyday urban hustle.

--

--

Brenda Arnold

An American in Germany, I write historical but funny tidbits on life abroad and family relationships gleaned from raising two kids. Visit www.expatchatter.net